FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Berlin  2007   Women's Grand Slam
12.07.2007 -  14.07.2007



After hosting soccer's World Cup in 2006, Germany returns to the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour calendar in 2007 by hosting a Grand Slam event.  The last international Beach Volleyball event held in Berlin was the 2005 SWATCH-FIVB World Championships, where teams from the United States and Brazil captured the gold medals on the Schlossplatz centre court.


Berlin is the capital city and one of the sixteen federal states of Germany. With a population of 3.4 million in its city limits, Berlin is the country's largest city and the second most populous city in the European Union. Berlin is an influential center in European politics, culture and science. The city serves as an important hub of continental transportation and is home to renowned universities, research faculties and museums. The rapidly evolving metropolis is a center for the creative industries, and encompasses a diverse range of convention venues and media corporations. Berlin is an international tourist destination, recognized for its festivals, sport events, contemporary architecture, nightlife, and avant-garde arts. Being home to people from over 180 nations, Berlin is a focal point for individuals who are attracted by its liberal lifestyle, urban eclecticism, and artistic freedom.


Women – The women’s SWATCH-FIVB World Tour returns to Berlin for the fifth-time where teams from Brazil and the United States have captured gold medals, including the second SWATCH-FIVB World Championship title for Americans Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh in 2005.  It was May-Treanor's second Berlin gold medal as she won the inaugural women's stop in the German capital in 2000 with Holly McPeak.  Suzanne Lahme and Danja Musch posted Germany's best finish in Berlin with a 2004 fourth at the Schlossplatz.



2005 Berlin podium at the SWATCH-FIVB World Championships (left to right) Larissa, Juliana, May-Treanor, Walsh, Tian Jia and Wang Fei


Year - Berlin Gold Medal / Berlin Silver Medal / Berlin Bronze Medal

2000 - Holly McPeak/Misty May-Treanor, USA / Tania Gooley/Pauline Manser, Australia / Mia Teru Saiki/Yukiko Takahashi, Japan

2003 – Ana Paula Connelly/Sandra Pires, Brazil / Holly McPeak/Elaine Youngs, USA, Adriana Behar/Shelda Bede, Brazil

2004 – Adriana/Shelda, Brazil / Dalixia Fernandez Grasset/Tamara Larrea Peraza, Cuba / McPeak/Youngs, United States

2005 – May-Treanor/Walsh, United States / Juliana Felisberta Silva/Larissa Franca, Brazil / Tian Jia/Wang Fei, China


Men - The men’s SWATCH-FIVB World Tour returns to Berlin for the 11th-time as reigning world champions Marcio Araujo and Fabio Magalhaes of Brazil attempt to become the first-ever men's team to win back-to-back title in the Germany capital.  Marcio Araujo and Fabio posted a remarkable comeback in the 2005 SWATCH-FIVB World Championships on the Schlossplatz as the Brazilians rebounded from an opening round setback to win the title with nine-straight wins, including seven in the elimination bracket.  Host Germany will be looking for its third-straight Berlin podium placement after Julius Brink and Kjell Schneider captured the bronze medal in 2005 after Markus Dieckmann and Jonas Reckermann won the gold medal at the 2004 Grand Slam on the Schlossplatz.  Germany's Thorsten Schoen was named the SWATCH most outstanding player at the 2005 world championships after he and Marvin Polte started as the 46th-seeded team and placed fourth.


2005 Berlin podium at the SWATCH-FIVB World Championships (left to right) Heyer, Schoen, Fabio, Marcio Araujo, Brink and Schneider


Year – Berlin Gold Medal / Berlin Silver Medal / Berlin Bronze Medal

1995 - Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway / Franco Neto/Roberto Lopes, Brazil / Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil

1996 - John Child/Mark Heese, Canada / Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil / Julien Prosser/Lee Zahner, Australia

1997 - Emanuel/Ze Marco, Brazil / Guilherme/Para, Brazil / Kvalheim/Maaseide, Norway

1998 - Jorre Kjemperud/Vegard Hoidalen, Norway / Guilherme/Para, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, Brazil

1999 - Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, Switzerland / Javier Bosma/Fabio Diez, Spain

2001 - Prosser/Zahner, Australia / M. Laciga/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Emanuel/Tande Ramos, Brazil

2002 - Para/Harley Marques, Brazil / Mariano Baracetti/Martin Conde, Argentina / Markus Dieckmann/Jonas Reckermann, Germany

2003 - Franco/Harley, Brazil / Baracetti/Conde, Argentina / Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil

2004 - M. Dieckmann/Reckermann, Germany / M. Laciga/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Baracetti/Conde, Argentina

2005 - Marcio Araujo/Fabio Magalhaes, Brazil / Sascha Heyer/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Julius Brink/Kjell Schneider, Germany