FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Klagenfurt  2006   Men's Grand Slam
03.08.2006 -  06.08.2006




The last Grand Slam of the year in Klagenfurt

KLAGENFURT 2006 - The SWATCH-FIVB World Tour returns to Klagenfurt, the Carinthian capital city, for the 10th-straight season as the event will feature both men’s and women’s competition for the sixth consecutive year.  Since 1996, the event has grown into one of Austria's most successful sporting occasions.  It was the site of the 2001 SWATCH-FIVB World Championships when a leading Austrian magazine voted the Lake Woerthersee Beach Volleyball stop their "best event" ahead of the world-renowned downhill ski race in Kitzbuehel and the Formula One Grand Prix.  Klagenfurt 2006 will also be the fourth of four “Grand Slam” events on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour following major stops in Gstaad, Stavanger and Paris.  Dancing, chanting, cheers and screams are all synonymous with the Lake Woerthersee tournament.  Played before capacity crowds on the 8,000-seat centre court, the A1 Beach Volleyball Grand Slam presented by Nokia features six days of thrilling, world-class action, watched by sun-baked galleries in a unique festive atmosphere that never stops.  And it's just the perfect ingredients to draw the crème de la crème of Austrian highlife to this unique lakeside event.  Ask those in the know:  If it's August, it must be Beach Volleyball at Klagenfurt.



Men - The “premiere” stop on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour, the Lake Wörthersee SWATCH stop is the fourth and final grand slam event of the 2006 season.  Germany’s Christoph Dieckmann and Andreas Scheuerpflug upset Brazilian Olympic champions Emanuel Rego and Ricardo Santos in the 2005 finale to mark the first-time that a country outside of South America claimed the Klagenfurt men’s gold medal.  A 2001 FIVB World Championship victory for Argentina’s Mariano Baracetti and Martin Conde was the only gold medal finish for a country other than Brazil in Austria.  Emanuel, who has captured five Klagenfurt gold medals with three different partners and $106,000 in earnings, is one of 14 players that have competed in all nine events on Lake Wörthersee.  Others are Conde ($42,650), Baracetti ($41,350), Jorre Kjemperud, Norway ($32,700), Vegard Hoidalen, Norway ($30,325), Martin Laciga, Switzerland ($25,375), Paul Laciga, Switzerland ($24,625), Markus Egger, Switzerland ($24,100), Nikolas Berger, Austria ($21,350), Julien Prosser, Australia ($19,700), Mark Heese, Canada ($19,000), Robert Nowotny, Austria ($12,375), Paul Schroffenegger, Austria ($5,200) and Thomas Schroffenegger, Austria ($5,200).  Berger and Clemens Doppler finished fifth in both 2002 and 2003.  The Schroffeneggers are only team to compete in all nine Klagenfurt events together.


The 2005 A1 podium (left to right), Emanuel, Ricardo, Scheuerpflug, Dieckmann, Fabio and Marcio Araujo



Year – Klagenfurt Gold Medal / Klagenfurt Silver Medal / Klagenfurt Bronze Medal

1997 - Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil / Jorg Ahmann/Axel Hager, Germany / Paulao Moreira/Paulo Emilio Silva, Brazil
1998 - Jose Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Dain Blanton/Eric Fonoimoana, USA / Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway
1999 - Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, Brazil / Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil
2000 - Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Paulao/Jefferson Bellaguarda, Brazil
2001* - Mariano Baracetti/Martin Conde, Argentina / Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Vegard Hoidalen/Jorre Kjemperud, Norway
2002 - Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Markus Egger/Sascha Heyer, Switzerland / Hoidalen/Kjemperud, Norway
2003 - Marcio Araujo/Benjamin Insfran, Brazil / Stein Metzger/Kevin Wong, USA / Stefan Kobel/Patrick Heuscher, Switzerland
2004 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Franco Neto/Tande Ramos, Brazil / Christoph Dieckmann/Andreas Scheuerpflug, Germany
2005 - C. Dieckmann/Scheuerpflug, Germanyl / Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Marcio Araujo/Fabio Magalhaes, Brazi
*FIVB World Championships




Women - After Adriana Behar and Shelda Behar captured their second FIVB World Championship in 2001 in Klagenfurt, the United States captured the last four Austrian gold medals.  Kerri Walsh has been part of the winning team each time with Misty May (2002, 2003 and 2005) and Rachel Wacholder (2004).  Shelda, who missed the 2005 Klagenfurt stop with injuries, and Adriana have collected four Klagenfurt medals along with $114,000 in Austrian earnings.  The best finish by an Austrian team in the four previous Klagenfurt events have been 17ths, including Christine Mellitzer/Sabine Swoboda in 2001, Barbara Hansel/Sara Montagnolli and Doris/Stefanie Schwaiger in 2004, and Chrisi Gschweidl/Hansel and the Schwaigers in 2005.


2005 Klagenfurt podium (left to right) Elaine Youngs, Rachel Wacholder, Misty May-Treanor, Kerri Walsh, Wang Fei and Tian Jia



Year – Klagenfurt Gold Medal / Klagenfurt Silver Medal / Klagenfurt Bronze Medal

2001* - Shelda Bede/Adriana Behar, Brazil / Sandra Pires/Tatiana Minello, Brazil / Eva Celbova/Sona Novakova, Czech Republic

2002 - Misty May-Treanor/Kerri Walsh, United States / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Elaine Youngs/Holly McPeak, USA

2003 – May-Treanor/Walsh, United States / Pires/Ana Paula Connelly, Brazil / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil

2004 - Walsh/Rachel Wacholder, United States / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Annett Davis/ Jenny Johnson Jordan, USA

2005 - May-Treanor/Walsh, United States / Wacholder/Youngs, United States / Tian Jia/Wang Fei, China

*FIVB World Championships