FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Espinho  2006   Men's Open
15.06.2006 -  18.06.2006




Can Germany win again on the beach at Espinho?

ESPINHO 2006 - Renowned for its vast, sun-kissed beaches and wonderful selection of seafood restaurants, Espinho is a popular holiday town in Aveiro province that has developed a reputation as a fantastic venue for the SWATCH-FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour over the past 11 years.  The 2006 Portuguese Open on the Praia da Baia features menís competition.  Espinho currently ranks behind Rio de Janeiro (14) and tied with Marseille (11) in hosting menís SWATCH-FIVB World Tour events.  The 2005 finale featured the first-ever All-German SWATCH gold medal match as Julius Brink and Kjell Schneider won their first international Beach Volleyball title.  Portuguese Olympians Joao Brenha and Luis Maia have posted their countryís top finish in Espinho with a fifth in 1998.  The pair has competed in 10 of the Espinho events together.  Situated on Portugal's northwestern coast known as the Costa Verde, Espinho is located 11 miles (18km) south of Porto.


PIC: Espinho 2005 podium (left to right) Reckermann, Dieckmann, Brink, Schneider, Fabio Luis & Marcio Araujo




Year - Portugal Gold Medal / Portugal Silver Medal / Portugal Bronze Medal
1995 - Franco Neto/Roberto Lopes, Brazil / Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil /Javier Bosma/Sixto Jimenez, Spain
1996 - Mike Dodd/Mike Whitmarsh, USA /John Child/Mark Heese, Canada / Eduardo Martinez/Martin Conde, Argentina
1997 - Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway / Franco/Roberto Lopes, Brazil / Child/Heese, Canada
1998 - Jose Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Kent Steffes/Whitmarsh, USA / Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil
1999 - Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Guilherme/Para, Brazil / Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil
2000 - Ze Marco /Ricardo, Brazil / Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, Switzerland
2001 - Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / M. Laciga/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Emanuel/Tande Ramos, Brazil
2002 - Stein Metzger/Kevin Wong, USA / Marcio Araujo/Benjamin Insfran, Brazil / Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil
2003 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Vegard Hoidalen/Jorre Kjemperud, Norway / Andrew Schacht/Josh Slack, Canada
2004 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / Hoidalen/Kjemperud, Norway / Marcio Araujo/Benjamin, Brazil
2005 - Julius Brink/Kjell Schneider, Germany / Markus Dieckmann/Jonas Reckermann, Germany / Marcio Araujo/Fabio Magelhaes, Brazil