FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



  Marseille  2006   Women's Open
05.07.2006 -  08.07.2006



A return to the South of France

MARSEILLE 2006 - The Mediterranean port of Marseille welcomes back the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour after hosting the world’s best Beach Volleyball players for 11-straight years from 1994 through 2004.  Marseille will tie Espinho, Portugal in staging the second-most SWATCH-FIVB World Tour events behind Rio de Janeiro.  While the men will be competing in Marseille for the 12th-time, the women’s SWATCH-FIVB World Tour will be competing on the Plage of Prado for the ninth-time.  One of the largest ports in Europe, Marseille is also regarded as France's 'second' city.  It is a melting pot of commerce, culture and tourism, and serves as the gateway to Provence and many other provinces in southern France.  Marseille is also the oldest city in France, having been founded by the Greeks in 600 BC, and today boasts one of the most diverse and cosmopolitan populations in Europe.  Many visit the area for it's natural beauty and spectacular climate, although the Mistral - a strong wind that funnels down the Rhone Valley - can often make itself felt.



Women – Highlighted by the 1999 SWATCH-FIVB World Championships where Adriana Behar and Shelda Bede captured their first of two world titles, Marseille ranks behind Osaka, Japan in staging SWATCH-FIVB World Tour women’s events and is tied with Espinho, Portugal.  Osaka, which is not on the 2006 women’s schedule, hosted the SWATCH Tour 12 times (1994-2004).  Adriana and Shelda competed in the first seven Marseille events and never finished lower than fourth with six medal placements and $180,100 in earnings.  The United States’ Elaine Youngs (2001 and 2002) and Kerri Walsh (2003 and 2004) won back-to-back Marseille gold medals with different partners.  Ethel-Julie Arjona and Virginie Kadjo posted ninths (2003 and 2004) for the best finishes by a French team in Marseille.



Year - Marseille Gold Medal / Marseille Silver Medal / Marseille Bronze Medal

1997 - Shelda Bede/Adriana Behar / Lisa Arce/Holly McPeak, USA / Monica RodriguesAdriana Samuel, Brazil

1998 - Sandra Pires/Samuel, Brazil / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil Jackie Silva/Monica, Brazil

1999* - Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Annett Davis/Jenny Johnson Jordan, USA / Liz Masakayan/Elaine Youngs, USA

2000 - Davis/Johnson Jordan, USA / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil / Ana Paula Connelly/Monica Rodrigues, Brazil

2001 - Barbra Fontana/Youngs, USA / Shelda/Adriana Behar, Brazil / Arce/McPeak, USA

2002 - McPeak/Youngs, USA / Misty May-Treanor/Kerri Walsh, USA / Natalie Cook/Kerri Pottharst, Australia

2003 - May-Treanor/Walsh, USA / Ana Paula/Pires, Brazil / Shelda/Adriana, Brazil

2004 - Rachel Wacholder/Walsh, USA / Davis/Johnson Jordan, USA / Juliana Felisberta Silva/Larissa Franca, Brazil

*FIVB World Championships




Men - Jan Kvalheim and Bjorn Maaseide of Norway defeated Christian Penigaud and Jean-Philippe Jodard of France in the first Marseille final that became the first All-European finals on the SWATCH-FIVB World Tour.  South American tandems won the next 10, including nine by teams from Brazil.  Mariano Baracetti and Martin Conde of Argentina (2001) broke the Brazilian streak.



Year - Marseille Gold Medal / Marseille Silver Medal / Marseille Bronze Medal

1994 - Jan Kvalheim/Bjorn Maaseide, Norway / Christian Penigaud/Jean-Philippe Jodard, France / Carlos Briceno/Jeff Williams, USA
1995 - Emanuel Rego/Ze Marco de Melo, Brazil / Kvalheim/Maaseide, Norway / Andre Gomes/Carlos Loss, Brazil
1996 - Franco Neto/Roberto Lopes, Brazil / Carl Henkel/Sinjin Smith, USA, Eduardo Martinez/Martin Conde, Argentina
1997 - Guilherme Marques/Para Ferreira, Brazil / Emanuel/Ze Marco, Brazil / Julie Prosser/Lee Zahner, Australia
1998 - Ze Marco/Ricardo Santos, Brazil / Jorg Ahmann/Axel Hager, Germany / Bill Boullianne/Ian Clark, USA
1999* - Jose Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil / Martin Laciga/Paul Laciga, Switzerland / Guilherme/Para, Brazil
2000 - Ze Marco/Ricardo, Brazil / Vegard Hoidalen/Jorre Kjemperud, Norway / Loiola/Emanuel, Brazil
2001 - Mariano Baracetti.Conde, Argentina / Emanuel/Tande Ramos, Brazil Stein Metzger/Kevin Wong, USA
2002 - Loiola/Ricardo, Brazil / Francisco Alvarez/Juan Rossell, Cuba / Emanuel/Tande, Brazil
2003 - Emanuel/Ricardo, Brazil / M. Laciga/P. Laciga, Switzerland / Dain Blanton/Jeff Nygaard, USA
2004 - Marcio Araujo/Benjamin Insfran, Brazil / Patrick Heuscher/Stefan Kobel, Switzerland / Baracetti/Conde, Argentina
*FIVB World Championships